Google Photos, a photo sharing and storage service developed by Google, allows you to back up and organize your photos and videos automatically. You can find and share them with your friends or family members in a much faster way and also never run out of space on your mobile device.
This photos app really come handy when you want to store your photos. Not only it saves a lot of space on your phone but also keeps them organized all the time, making it easier for you to get access to them and then finally share them.
Google Photos comes with a lot of interesting features. From providing free unlimited storage to organizing the media smartly to providing powerful and intuitive editing tools for pictures to sharing the pictures with your friends, this app has proved to be quite beneficial for the users.
Once we start keeping a backup of our photos on Google Photos, they appear in the main album which can be viewed by everyone. This might become a concern for people who do not want their private photos to go public. The best way to not let others see our private photos would be hiding them so they don’t appear on the main scrolling feed. In this post, we will tell you about a simple hack that lets you hide your private photos on Google Photos and separates them from the main album.
Hide Your Private Photos on Google Photos
Archie feature of Google Photos can be used to hide your private photos. This feature is available for all the web, Android, and iOS users and with the help of this feature, they can easily separate their private photos and videos from the main album. Please remember that you need to have Google Photos version 2.15 in order to use this feature.
The following step by step guide will make you understand how to hide your private photos on Google photos and keep them from appearing in the main album:
The first step would be to download and install the Google Photos app on your device if you haven’t already.
Once it is installed on your device, open the app to archive a photo or a video.
Select the particular photo or multiple photos you want to hide and then tap the menu button present on the top left corner of the app.
After you’ve opened the menu, you will come across an Archive option over there.
Tap the Archive option and your selected media will then disappear from the main album.
The entire process is as simple as it sounds. You do not need to fret because the selected photos or videos won’t get deleted from your device. In fact, they will only be hidden so that people cannot view them. The selected media will be moved to some other previously assigned folder and can be accessed whenever you want.
By hiding your private photos on Google Photos, you can separate your private photos from the main album while saving a lot of storage space for your mobile device.