Facebook is great, no doubt about that as it is doing a great job of keeping the entire world connected, but it has also affected our privacy. The social media platform offers various privacy options, but they are either too thin, or too complicated for users who aren’t good at navigating through the privacy controls. If you want to stay off the radar without leaving Facebook, then follow these basic steps. They will switch your Facebook account to stealth mode. Once you are done, no one except you will be able to see your Facebook activities.
Restrict Access to Your Future Posts
Click on the security and privacy icon (a padlock) present at the top-left corner on the Facebook interface. A drop-down menu will appear. First expand the Who can see my Stuff? option. Then click on Who can see my future posts? and select Only Me. This will keep everyone from getting access to any of your future posts.
Change Timeline and Tagging Settings
In the security and privacy menu, click on See More Settings. A new window will appear showing various options. Click on Timeline and Tagging and then set all the options to Only Me. This will allow you to:
- Block everyone from posting on your Timeline
- Stop people from seeing posts you are tagged in
- Stop people from seeing what others post on your Timeline.
Make Sure No One Can Contact You through Facebook
Open the security and privacy menu and from there navigate to See More Settings>Privacy>Contact Info. Set the first option Who can send you friend requests? to Friends of Friends. Set the second option Who can look you up using the email address you provided? to Friends. Set the third option Who can look you up using the phone number you provided? to Friends. Finally disable the Do you want search engines outside of Facebook to link to your profile? option by unchecking the box next to it.
Turn Off Chat
Open Facebook chat options by clicking on the settings icon located at the bottom-right corner of the website’s interface. Look for the Turn Off Chat option in the context menu and click on it. A pop-up window will appear showing different options. Select the option that says Turn off chat for all friends.
Note: The effectiveness of some of the tips given above may change with future Facebook updates.