How to Use WhatsApp’s Delete for Everyone feature? [Guide]

There have been a lot of instances when you’ve sent messages to an incorrect contact on WhatsApp or sent inappropriate messages to a friend which you never wanted to. Such kind of mistakes are bound to happen when you’re using WhatsApp – an instant messaging service with over a billion users in its data base. It is one of the most undisputed king of social media apps right now.

While you sent messages by mistakes, there was no chance to cover them. However, now you have. WhatsApp has recently rolled out a ‘Delete for Everyone’ feature for both Android and iPhone users that lets them delete or unsend messages after they’ve sent them to their contact.

Rumors about this feature had been circling around for the unsend feature for a while but now WhatsApp has seemed to confirm them by launching it. Recently, the instant messaging app also launched its own live location tracking feature and now it has rolled out the delete messages feature. Follow this guide to find out how you can use this ‘Delete for Everyone’ feature on both Android and iPhone devices.

Delete for Everyone Feature

If you’re an ardent WhatsApp user, then you must know that you could only delete sent WhatsApp messages from your phone previously. The latest feature lets you delete messages not only for yourself but also for the ones who’ve received them. It is quite similar to the unsend feature in Instagram. However, there are a few things you must need to know before you start using this feature and they are explained as below:

  • If the message becomes seven minutes old, then you cannot delete it for everyone.
  • You and the recipient should be using the latest version of WhatsApp to avail this feature.
  • You can also unsend or delete the messages that have been read by your contact.
  • This feature works well for both groups and individual chats

How to Use the ‘Delete for Everyone’ feature on WhatsApp

For iPhone

The following step by step guide will let you know how to use the feature on an iPhone device:

Step 1: Head over to your WhatsApp and then open the desired contact or group conversation where you wish to delete the message from.

Step2: Long tap on the message which you want to delete for everyone.

Delete-for-everyone-messages-on-iPhone

Step 3: A new context menu will appear on the conversation screen. Tap the right arrow and then select the Delete option. You can also select multiple messages instead of one. Only the messages up to seven minutes old for the Delete for Everyone option to appear on the screen.

Step 4: After selecting the message, tap the Trash icon present at the bottom left and then select Delete for Everyone option. If there are multiple messages, the number of messages will also appear on the context menu.

Delete-for-everyone-iPhone

Step 5: After tapping on the Delete for Everyone, the messages will be removed from your phone as well as from your recipient’s phone as well. They will be erased from the conversation altogether.

For Android

Follow the steps below to use the Delete for Everyone feature on your Android device:

Step 1: Head over to WhatsApp and then open the contact or group you want to delete the message(s) from.

Step 2: Select the message(s) you wish to delete.

Delete-for-everyone-Android

Step 3: Tap the trash icon present at the top row.

Step 4: If you have the latest version of WhatsApp installed on your device, then you will get to see the Delete for Everyone option here. Once you tap it, the message(s) will be erased for you and the recipient.

Unlike unsend feature on Instagram, the recipient will find out instantly when you delete a message from the chat because the delete message will be labelled as ‘This message was deleted’ in the same chat window. However, this is still better than facing the embarrassment of sending a wrong message to a contact.

 

Leave a Reply